New details have emerged!

Warzone 2 is the next iteration of the battle royale, and with Infinity Ward pulling out the red carpet to reveal the game fully, we've got tons to talk about.

With the release of Warzone 2, they've also gone ahead and released MW2 Season 1, which finally implements the games battle pass.

Here's how it works within Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2!

How Does The Battle Pass Work In Modern Warfare 2 Season 1?

The battle pass itself is rather unique within MW2, as they've gone ahead and changed it completly, to sorta resemble what Fortnite has been doing over the years.

Now, players will be able to choose their reward path, and there's some fantastic ones within.

Here's what Infinity Ward has to say regarding the battle pass.

Explaining the Battle Pass: Initial Overview

Your mission has expanded to a full combat map!

When you access the Battle Pass menu within Modern Warfare® II or WarzoneTM 2.0, instead of seeing the familiar, long horizontal strip of Tiered content to unlock, you’re greeted with an impressive, large-scale map. This is the Battle Pass Area of Operations (AO). The Season 01 Battle Pass AO is divided into 21 different “Combat Sectors,” from A0 (Bonus Combat Sector) to A20.

Combat Sectors A1 to A20 are all connected to each other. Looking at the Sectors that are adjacent (and therefore connected) to the Sector you are currently unlocking is the key to progressing through this new Battle Pass.

Once you’ve unlocked all the rewards in all Combat Sectors from A0 to A20, expect to unlock a Victory Sector and earn valuable bonus rewards for total victory!

See below for more specifics.

Also note that the Sectors within this Battle Pass AO contain 1,400 Total Call of Duty® Points (CP). Earn 400 free CP within the Battle Pass System, plus 1,000 more if you unlock across the full Battle Pass and Bonus Sector, allowing you to earn back the CP you spent purchasing the Battle Pass if you unlock all the CP within each Sector!


Explaining the Battle Pass with the First Sector: Sector A1

The new Battle Pass is a bit easier to understand once you walk through your first Sector. Whether you decide to stick to the free version or upgrade to get access to all content, everyone will start the Season 01 Battle Pass at Sector A1. Click on any Sector, and you’ll see there are up to five different items to unlock.

On the Battle Pass Area of Operations (AO), or the onscreen map, you will see “The Orbiter” Weapon Blueprint over Sector A1 — this is called the High Value Target (HVT). Think of it as the main item of interest within a Sector. You will also see the HVTs of all other Sectors shown across the Battle Pass screen. Now for a closer inspection: Select Sector A1, and you will see four other items underneath the HVT: the “Aerial Entrance” Calling Card, a Double Weapon XP Token, the “Aerial Entrance” Emblem, and the “Paying Rent” Weapon Charm.

All these items require a Battle Token Tier Skip to unlock. Battle Token Tier Skips are earned simply by playing the game, like Tiers in the old system. “Tier Skips” from the Vault Edition of Modern Warfare II will be converted into an equivalent number of Battle Token Tier Skips (50 Tier Skips, 50 Battle Token Tier Skips).

Earn a maximum of 100 Battle Token Tier Skips within a Season, which will be automatically spent at the end of the season if you don’t designate Sector items you wish to unlock. If you have more Vault Edition Battle Token Tier Skips than rewards remaining in the Battle Pass, any surplus will carry over to the following season.

Using a Battle Token Tier Skip “unlocks” an item for access. Items tagged with “Free” are available for all players. Get the full Battle Pass to get every item available.

In each Sector, the four items need to be unlocked with Battle Token Tier Skips before the HVT is available to unlock with another Battle Token Tier Skip. In the case of Sector A1, four Battle Token Tier Skips are needed to unlock the “Aerial Entrance” Calling Card, a Double Weapon XP Token, the “Aerial Entrance” Emblem, and the “Paying Rent” Weapon Charm, so that you can then use a fifth Battle Token Tier Skip to get “The Orbiter” Weapon Blueprint.

After getting the HVT item, the Sector is complete and you are free to advance to any adjacent Sector. In our example, once you get “The Orbiter,” you can move on to Sectors A2 and A3.

So, to recap, five Battle Token Tier Skips are needed to unlock everything in a Sector and to move on to another Sector. And 100 Battle Token Tier Skips are required to complete the Battle Pass.